Charlie Hall: A Good Man

charliegoteephotos by chris loope

charlieandbrianphotos by chris loope

I’ve met a lot of people in my young life, but, yesterday I met a fellow that will not soon be forgotten. I mean the guy told me to grab his goatee, he’s a good man.  Charlie Hall is a Singer/Songwriter/Worship Leader/Pastor and now a friend. We had the chance to hang for a few hours yesterday as he and my friend Phil Wickham are on tour together and the tour stopped here at Cornerstone.

Charlie is one of those guys that lives like I hope I live. He lives in the midst of his story, believing God, believing the scripture, making his declaration through the art of song and doing everything with Christ in him to live it out. A couple things really stood out to me from what I observed in my time with Charlie and I’d love to share them with you.

As a Worship Leader, I have a deep amount of respect for him. Charlie has been on the scene as a writer and leader for a good while now. I can remember hearing the Passion ’99 album for the first time and hearing him lead ‘Better is One Day’ and ‘You’re Worthy of My Praise’ with the Female vocalists and all. Ten years later his lyrics and style continue to be a transcendant piece of beautiful art through music.

Ultimately, now having had the chance to get to know Charlie, I see a man that has dealt and is dealing with real life face to face. Charlie is a man that declares the truth of the songs God has given him to serve as a medium to help free people, but, they’re also the songs to remind him that he’s free. I appreciate the way he draws people in who don’t normally feel invited in and reminds us all that we’re broken people in need of redemption.

Much more to say, but, for your own good, go download some of his music. His newest offering is called ‘The Bright Sadness’. Check it out!

9 responses to “Charlie Hall: A Good Man

  1. sweet man! Wish I could have seen the show!

  2. Amen! The concert rocked, but Charlie is a good man! I used to work for Ichthus Music Festival back in Wilmore, KY…I think it was 2003 when Charlie came and led worship and I got to spend some time with him and his band…and I still look back on those days with lots of bands and artists, and Charlie always stuck out as the most down-to-earth, humble guy I encountered! Way to go one the concert, by the way…it was awesome!

  3. I am a huge fan of his music. I wish I could have been there last night. His message through song has been such an encouragement.

  4. The title says it all! Cody and I had to sneak out of the concert early and had a chance to meet him on our way out. It meant so much to be able to tell him how God has used his music to speak truth in our lives. In fact, my latest blog post references the impact one of his songs had on me through a really tough time. He is truly a gifted writer and musician, and how fantastic that he genuinely lives out his faith!

  5. that is awesome!

    his latest album is one of the best out there right now. phenomenal.

  6. I loved that he was chatting it up with the crowd at Calvary before and after the show. More than handshakes and high-fives.

  7. No doubt. Always genuine and full of love. An amazing songwriter and introspective worship leader like no other.

  8. That guy has an amazing goatee. He should go to jail if he ever takes a blade to it!

  9. Pingback: A New Year to Rise! «

Leave a Reply

