A New Year to Rise!

One of the highlights of 2009 was the chance to get to know Charlie Hall. I wrote about it after my time with him back in April 2009.

I’m reminded of the beautiful lyrics he penned called ‘New Year’. It’s a song of recognizing the pain of our past, yet, pointing towards the hope and light that is found only in Jesus for our future. It’s a powerful song of redemption and restoration! It’s a song that deals with failure and hope. Dark and light. It’s a song that roots itself in the power of what God can do in our lives. This is a New Year…so RISE, SHINE and point the way to GOD’s great light. It is my prayer over my life and over yours for 2010! May we point the way for MANY this year to the great light and life that is found in Christ.

I’d love for you to leave a link to your ‘Year in Review’ here on my blog. I wanna read what happened in your life in 2009 and what you’re hopeful towards in 2010. Drop a link!

New Year by Charlie Hall

Verse 1

My heart beats like a drum, flying up with the sun as I grab your hand again!

Renovated with life, my eyes again bright. You are radiant!

Pre-Chorus

Where hope can hold my hand in sorrow and we can walk in tomorrow

Where peace is found in troubled days and the joy of Jesus carries pain

Chorus

This is a new year. This is a new day to rise, shine and lift up your eyes.

This is a new year. This is a new day to rise, shine and point the way to Gods great life.

Verse 2

I’m held in this place, this beautiful space where heaven meets the earth.

My heart opens wide and the Father pours life deep inside my soul.

4 responses to “A New Year to Rise!

  1. I really, really hope that Charlie writes an autobiography some day.

  2. I first heard this song when we played it on Sunday and it immediately touched me. It’s my anthem for the start of 2010 that sums up what God did for me last year and the great hope and joy I see in front of me. I’m ready for a year of God moving in me and through me in even bigger ways.

  3. I think you were the one that tweeted that out the other day with some lyrics from the song. I completely forgot about the song, but it is a perfect song to start the new year off and yes it is a new year and a new decade.

    Good stuff and classic pic there with Charlie

  4. I did NOT know you had a website! AWESOME!! thanks for commenting… you guys are awesome!

Leave a Reply

