Your Love Never Fails

I’ve recently come to love a song called Your Love Never Fails. It’s such a solid reminder of what the Bible proclaims to us about Gods love. These are some of they lyrics I’m just loving to lead right now. You can catch a great version of this song on Jesus Cultures worship album called Your Love Never Fails.

This video has a sweet little part in it from this past weekend. I got in a pinch over the weekend and called in a favor from an old friend to come play guitar. My friend Mike Eldred is a blues king and can shred him some leads. He’s also the Director of Custom Guitars at Fender, small fish. HA. This past weekend was no exception to his shredding and at the 3rd service during Your Love Never Fails I couldn’t hold back the WOW. HAHA. The guy can just shred and we got lost in it for a minute. We’ve got some AMAZING players here at Cornerstone and they bring exactly what we need every week, but Mike just has this Blues shredding capacity that we really don’t use week to week. So…enjoy his serious shredding and this awesome tune.

I’d love to hear your thoughts on the song too!!! Have you heard this tune? Do you like it? Not?

12 responses to “Your Love Never Fails

  1. Are you kidding me!!! Man, Mike is AMAZING…literally no words. I missed like 75% of what he was doing with the in-ears in. Thanks so much for sharing this!!!

  2. Thanks for posting this Brian. I was out of town this week in Tucson. Glad to hear the music that I missed this weekend (and see the hair that my family was talking about all week).

    A real good friend of mine also works for Fender. Man, the people there sure do know how to play a guitar!

  3. I’m SO happy u posted this! I was at THIS service & remember looking around as he was tearin it up thinking “are u people hearing what I’m hearing right now?!” – truly talented. When I got home after Sundays service, I downloaded Jesus Culture’s version of this awesome song on itunes & have had it stuck in my head ever since. Thank you for all that u & the other musicians do every Sunday.

  4. THANK YOU for posting this! I have to tell you, when I was listening to Mike tearin it up on Sunday at this service, I was looking around at everyone thinking “Okay are you hearing what I’m hearing right now?!” – true talent right there. I went home after the service and downloaded the Jesus Culture version on ITunes and have had it in my head ever since, awesome song. Thank you for sharing it with us and for bringing Mike with you, such a treat.

  5. Brian, I loved the way you honored your players and not afraid to stop in the middle of a song to just be real.

    As for the song i dig it but i have hesitated singing it because of the lyric “you make all things work together for the good” not that i disagree with the lyric, because it is in the scripture.

    The thing for me is that it is not contextualized within the song, because the scripture is more than “for my good” but,

    “for the good of those who are called according to his purpose, 9For those God foreknew he also predestined to be conformed to the likeness of his Son, that he might be the firstborn among many brothers. 30And those he predestined, he also called; those he called, he also justified; those he justified, he also glorified. ”

    My fear is that singing this without putting it in context could lead people to a misunderstanding, because the “good” is directly related to God’s will and His Glory. I think it important to know that God defines the Good, and we don’t.

    I feel it necessary to know that what we may define as bad, or painful or saddening, could be and is is working for our good within Gods sovereign purpose. Too often people think that God should submit himself to what we call Good. I want to make sure if people are singing those words that it from an “I trust you” rather than “its all about me” heart.

    I can sometimes take things to an extreme, I just don’t want to feed a man centered theology that I see so prevalent today.

    I think the song would work best coupled with a sermon on Gods sovereignty where the scripture is fully explained.

    I think you did a Good job going that direction in your delivery above, in pointing toward the purpose of Jesus.

  6. Thanks for that, Brian. Your words are such a blessing and you and your musicians are truly amazing!

  7. Awesome Brian. Thanks for sharing this my friend!

  8. Great song. We’ve been playing it for about a year now and it’s one I still love to lead. The lyrics are just so powerful and honest. I feel like Jesus Culture and Bethel (where they’re out of) are really doing some amazing songs right now. Brian and Jenn Johnson, Chris Quilala, Kim Walker-Smith. There streaming services are just a huge blessing. Great job Brian. Oh…and nice haircut.

  9. I love this song 😀

  10. You know me dude…this song has been one of my fav’s for a while now. I absolutely love those words and I nearly lose it every time I sing it out.

    In the top 5 most memorable moments of worship in my whole small life, was when I was leading this song at The Rhythm last year. We were just ripping that chorus like nobody’s biz, and I look down in the front left row and there is Aaron McRae pouring out every single fiber he has into those words and those truths in the middle of ALL that he and his family have gone through. Hands outstretched, belting from his gut, “Your love never changes…there may be pain in the night, but joy comes in the morning…”.

    Needless to say I was done.

  11. I love this song too Brian, and thanks for sharing it…Its good to stop and think about the words..God’s love for us is truly amazing!
    I got to hear it 5 times on Sunday!!

  12. I love that you just stopped right there in the middle of the song! Haha, very cool and I love what you were saying.

    I think Sean Carter brought up an interesting point there… Rom. 8:28 is so often brought up out of context and misinterpreted, and I don’t know if I would want to play it in this song without some sort of explaination, or like he suggested coupled with a sermon. But I also think you had some very inspired words and clearly stopping in the middle of the song to express your heart for the people around you did not disrupt the “flow” of the song.

    I’m so often concerned with what flows well and if I should close in prayer or open in prayer, and this was a great reminder that worship isn’t a formula. It’s not something that must be done stereotypically or in a way that “flows well.” I’ve realized that when I let the spirit lead and say what is on my heart, it is just perfect and pure worship.

    So, playing this song without the bridge would be totally cool, but I think with the way you did it here, it’s not necessary to leave it out. And it’s not like this is the one thing that could ever be misinterpreted anyway.

Leave a Reply

