Good Friday :: 2010

The cross is foolishness to those who are perishing, but, to those who are being saved it is the POWER of GOD! 1 Corinithians 1:18

Today, once again, I am struck by the profound mystery of the cross. Why God in His kindness would allow mankind to have the ability to choose death or life, knowing we’d tinker with death (sin) and knowing it would then mean that He would have to give of Himself (through Christ’s life, death, resurrection and glorification) to put it all back together again…simply mystery. Profound, deep, no-words-kind of mystery.

How thankful I am for Jesus today. I’m thankful because of the hope I have to live for something bigger than myself. I’m thankful because in the suffering of the Cross, Jesus took on death for me, for you, for all of us!! What an AMAZING example for mankind and in Jesus obedience He displays the Fathers love for us. ‘6You see, at just the right time, when we were still powerless, Christ died for the ungodly. 7Very rarely will anyone die for a righteous man, though for a good man someone might possibly dare to die. 8But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.’ Romans 5:6-8. This should wreck us. This historic mystery is the centerpiece for true peace in this life. This is what it means to know Christ, to know Him in His suffering.

So in this Holy Week…be reminded that God is so crazy about you that He would make a way for me and you (unholy people) to have relationship with Him (who alone is HOLY GOD).

Soak in the mystery today and celebrate the victory of Jesus conquering the grave this Easter Sunday. Don’t miss the opportunity to really basque in the cross though..stop, think about it, let your eyes well up with tears of grattitude, be thankful, get your life centered in Christ and let’s live a life full of this mystery!

Here’s a song and video that my brother, Ben, shared with me today.

2 responses to “Good Friday :: 2010

  1. Thank you Brian~that was so beautiful and just the reminder I needed. I am reposting this to my wall. Blessings!!

  2. A mystery indeed. The true depth of God’s mercy, grace and love for us exceeds our ability to truly comprehend. But, that in itself is such an amazing gift. If, in our humanity, we where able to fully grasp Jesus’ love for us, it would fail to be awe-inspiring, miraculous and transcendent. Thank you Jesus for loving me in a measure that is beyond anything I could ever imagine.

Leave a Reply

